Critical and free.

Two forms of thinking I can safely say not many people have. Even having one of these is a rarity today.

To have free thought is not only being able to let your mind wander wherever it may but for it to also be void of any dogma or restrictions in that wandering. Even if you have a certain viewpoint, to be able to momentarily surrender that in order to reach further is a sign of a great mind. To be able to do this one needs to have free time, being wrapped up in day to day living with continual stress and not a moment to spare leaves little room for free thought. When one eventually does experience these moments they may be short lived and few and far between.

Now that I work for myself I have found I have a lot more time to explore the intricacies and depths of my mind, what I think about and how I think about things. Of course I had these thoughts when I was working for someone but they would quickly be squandered as I was pressured to meet the next deadline.

What if God actually ex…   Sales! Sales! Sales!

This brings me to the subject of critical thinking. As we all know the traditional schooling system taught us what to think and not HOW to think. Most of us have grown up not questioning what we are told especially when it comes from authority which takes form in people, the media and our parents. When you start learning how to think, being critical of what you are taking in, you get to the stage when you even begin to question the way you question. It sounds like a mind melt but that is the whole point. Thinking is a challenge and difficult at times yet this is how we expand our knowledge and understanding.

We are so quick to share and spread information on platforms like Facebook without even having researched into it a bit ourselves. I am guilty of this in the past but I have learned from my errors and I now verify the facts for myself first. Otherwise it is merely the blind leading the blind. The truth is hard to swallow, yet people aren’t even at the stage of looking at the truth, never mind swallowing it.

Current society would much rather switch off in front of the switched on TV and be entertained. ‘Binging’ on series when there is a lot more serious stuff going on. Yes, there is a balance but right now we are way off to the wrong side.

Leave a comment